Due to the increasingly dry conditions, anticipated high temperatures and significant fire danger, CAL FIRE/County Fire is reminding residents and visitors that all fireworks (use, sale, possession) are illegal within San Luis Obispo County. Violations will result in a misdemeanor citation with a fine of $2,000.

EXCEPTIONS – State Regulated “Safe and Sane” fireworks are only legal to use, sell and possess within the following jurisdictions:
Oceano Community Services District
Templeton Community Services District
San Miguel Community Services District
City of Arroyo Grande
City of Grover Beach

The use of all fireworks is prohibited within all other areas of San Luis Obispo County.
The use of airborne paper lanterns (sky lanterns), is also prohibited by ordinance in San Luis Obispo County unless prior approval is granted by CAL FIRE/County Fire.

An average of over 18,000 fires each year in the United States are caused by fireworks.